Department Head Justin Schwartz Named ASM International Fellow

ASM International is the world’s largest organization of materials-based, or more specifically, metals-based research scientists. Each year, ASM International (ASM) recognizes their peers in metals research for their contributions to the field, whether it be in an area of materials science, engineering, or manufacturing. Those with distinguished contributions and model reputations are given the honor of joining the Class of Fellows. For 2015, MSE Department Head and Kobe Steel Distinguished Professor Justin Schwartz was among the 30 professionals given the honor. According to ASM managing director Terry Mosier, “Our Fellow of the Society and each of the honorees are some ofhte most elite in the materials science field and their contributions are driving the future of our industry.”

The complete list of the thirty-member 2015 Class of Fellows includes: 

• Sean R. Agnew, professor, University of Virginia (Charlottesville, Va.)
• Pranesh B. Aswath, professor and associate dean, College of Engineering, University of Texas (Arlington, Texas)
• Victor K. Champagne, Jr., leader of ARL Center for Cold Spray, U.S. Army Research Lab (Aberdeen, Md.)
• Mark Robert De Guire, associate professor, Case Western Reserve University (Cleveland, Ohio)
• Dr. Robert L. Freed, principal consultant, DuPont Company (West Chester, Pa.)
• Dr. Hamid Garmestani, professor, Georgia Institute of Technology (Atlanta, Ga.)
• Dr. Frank W. Gayle, deputy director, AMNPO, National Institute of Standards and Technology (Gaithersburg, Md.)
• Pradeep Goyal, chairman and managing director, Pradeep Metals Limited (Mumbai, India)
• William L. Hamm, Jr., director and board member, Materials Design, Inc., (Angel Fire, N.M.)
• Jacob C. Huang, national chair professor and senior vice president, National Sun Yat-Sen University (Kaohsiung, Taiwan)
• Donald F. Jordan, vice president of research and development and corporate metallurgist, Solar Atmospheres (Souderton, Pa.)
• Vivekanand Kain, outstanding scientist, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (Mumbai, India)
• Dr. Paul S. Korinko, senior fellow scientist, Savannah River National Lab, (Aiken, S.C.)
• Dr. Xingbo Liu, professor, West Virginia University (Morgantown, W.Va.)
• Dr. Benji Maruyama, senior materials research engineer, Air Force Research Laboratory (Dayton, Ohio)
• Suveen Mathaudhu, assistant professor, University of California (Riverside, Calif.)
• Brett A. Miller, technical director, IMR Metallurgical Services (Louisville, Ky.)• Christopher J. Misorski, technical specialist – materials, Mercury Marine (Fond du Lac, Wis.)
• Dr. Thomas M. Moore, president, Waviks, Inc. (Dallas, Texas)
• Dr. Joseph W. Newkirk, associate professor, Missouri University of Science & Technology (Rolla, Mo.)
• Dr. Gankidi Madhusudhan Reddy, scientist, Defense Metallurgical Research Laboratory (Telangana, India)
• Federico Rosei, professor and UNESCO chair, INRS (Varennes, Quebec, Canada)
• Dr. Muthukumarasamy Sadayappan, research scientist, Canmet Materials, NRCAN (Hamilton, Ontario, Canada)
• Dr. Judy Schneider, professor, University of Alabama (Huntsville, Ala.)
Justin Schwartz, Kobe Steel distinguished professor and department head, North Carolina State University (Raleigh, N.C.)
• Yongho Sohn, professor, University of Central Florida (Orlando, Fla.)
• David B. Spenciner, research fellow, DePuy Synthes Mitek Sports Medicine (Raynham, Mass.)
• Chester J. Van Tyne, FIERF professor, Colorado School of Mines (Golden, Colo.)
• Petri Vuoristo, professor, Tampere University of Technology (Finland)
• Zbigniew Zurecki, senior research associate, Air Products & Chemicals Inc. (Allentown, Pa.)

Schwartz wins IEEE Council on Superconductivity Award

Dr. Justin Schwartz, Kobe Steel Distinguished Professor and department head of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at North Carolina State University, has been awarded the IEEE Council on Superconductivity Award for Significant and Sustained Contributions to Applied Superconductivity.

The award, given by the IEEE Council on Superconductivity, recognizes researchers and technologists who have made “contributions in the field of applied superconductivity over a period of time of more than 20 years based on novel and innovative concepts proposed by the individual, the authorship or co-authorship of a number of publications of significance in the field of applied superconductivity and the presentation of a number of plenary and invited talks at major national and international conferences and meetings in applied superconductivity, including the Applied Superconductivity Conference.”

Schwartz is the youngest recipient in the history of the award.

Schwartz came to NC State in 2009 from Florida State University, where he was the Jack E. Crow Professor of Engineering. He holds bachelor’s and PhD degrees in nuclear engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana and from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, respectively.

He has led NC State’s MSE Department since 2009 and was reappointed for a five-year term this year.

Videos of the award ceremonies can be found at:

MSE Researchers Win Van Duzer Prizes

The Van Duzer Prize is awarded by the IEEE Council on Superconductivity to the best contributed paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity during each volume year. The prize is named in honor of Professor Theodore Van Duzer, founding Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Applied Superconductivity. The prizes for 2012 and 2013 were awarded publicly at an award ceremony held at the 2014 Applied Superconductivity Conference, the largest international conference in applied superconductivity.

Continue reading