Department Head Justin Schwartz Named ASM International Fellow

ASM International is the world’s largest organization of materials-based, or more specifically, metals-based research scientists. Each year, ASM International (ASM) recognizes their peers in metals research for their contributions to the field, whether it be in an area of materials science, engineering, or manufacturing. Those with distinguished contributions and model reputations are given the honor of joining the Class of Fellows. For 2015, MSE Department Head and Kobe Steel Distinguished Professor Justin Schwartz was among the 30 professionals given the honor. According to ASM managing director Terry Mosier, “Our Fellow of the Society and each of the honorees are some ofhte most elite in the materials science field and their contributions are driving the future of our industry.”

The complete list of the thirty-member 2015 Class of Fellows includes: 

• Sean R. Agnew, professor, University of Virginia (Charlottesville, Va.)
• Pranesh B. Aswath, professor and associate dean, College of Engineering, University of Texas (Arlington, Texas)
• Victor K. Champagne, Jr., leader of ARL Center for Cold Spray, U.S. Army Research Lab (Aberdeen, Md.)
• Mark Robert De Guire, associate professor, Case Western Reserve University (Cleveland, Ohio)
• Dr. Robert L. Freed, principal consultant, DuPont Company (West Chester, Pa.)
• Dr. Hamid Garmestani, professor, Georgia Institute of Technology (Atlanta, Ga.)
• Dr. Frank W. Gayle, deputy director, AMNPO, National Institute of Standards and Technology (Gaithersburg, Md.)
• Pradeep Goyal, chairman and managing director, Pradeep Metals Limited (Mumbai, India)
• William L. Hamm, Jr., director and board member, Materials Design, Inc., (Angel Fire, N.M.)
• Jacob C. Huang, national chair professor and senior vice president, National Sun Yat-Sen University (Kaohsiung, Taiwan)
• Donald F. Jordan, vice president of research and development and corporate metallurgist, Solar Atmospheres (Souderton, Pa.)
• Vivekanand Kain, outstanding scientist, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (Mumbai, India)
• Dr. Paul S. Korinko, senior fellow scientist, Savannah River National Lab, (Aiken, S.C.)
• Dr. Xingbo Liu, professor, West Virginia University (Morgantown, W.Va.)
• Dr. Benji Maruyama, senior materials research engineer, Air Force Research Laboratory (Dayton, Ohio)
• Suveen Mathaudhu, assistant professor, University of California (Riverside, Calif.)
• Brett A. Miller, technical director, IMR Metallurgical Services (Louisville, Ky.)• Christopher J. Misorski, technical specialist – materials, Mercury Marine (Fond du Lac, Wis.)
• Dr. Thomas M. Moore, president, Waviks, Inc. (Dallas, Texas)
• Dr. Joseph W. Newkirk, associate professor, Missouri University of Science & Technology (Rolla, Mo.)
• Dr. Gankidi Madhusudhan Reddy, scientist, Defense Metallurgical Research Laboratory (Telangana, India)
• Federico Rosei, professor and UNESCO chair, INRS (Varennes, Quebec, Canada)
• Dr. Muthukumarasamy Sadayappan, research scientist, Canmet Materials, NRCAN (Hamilton, Ontario, Canada)
• Dr. Judy Schneider, professor, University of Alabama (Huntsville, Ala.)
Justin Schwartz, Kobe Steel distinguished professor and department head, North Carolina State University (Raleigh, N.C.)
• Yongho Sohn, professor, University of Central Florida (Orlando, Fla.)
• David B. Spenciner, research fellow, DePuy Synthes Mitek Sports Medicine (Raynham, Mass.)
• Chester J. Van Tyne, FIERF professor, Colorado School of Mines (Golden, Colo.)
• Petri Vuoristo, professor, Tampere University of Technology (Finland)
• Zbigniew Zurecki, senior research associate, Air Products & Chemicals Inc. (Allentown, Pa.)