Schwartz wins IEEE Council on Superconductivity Award

Dr. Justin Schwartz, Kobe Steel Distinguished Professor and department head of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at North Carolina State University, has been awarded the IEEE Council on Superconductivity Award for Significant and Sustained Contributions to Applied Superconductivity.

The award, given by the IEEE Council on Superconductivity, recognizes researchers and technologists who have made “contributions in the field of applied superconductivity over a period of time of more than 20 years based on novel and innovative concepts proposed by the individual, the authorship or co-authorship of a number of publications of significance in the field of applied superconductivity and the presentation of a number of plenary and invited talks at major national and international conferences and meetings in applied superconductivity, including the Applied Superconductivity Conference.”

Schwartz is the youngest recipient in the history of the award.

Schwartz came to NC State in 2009 from Florida State University, where he was the Jack E. Crow Professor of Engineering. He holds bachelor’s and PhD degrees in nuclear engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana and from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, respectively.

He has led NC State’s MSE Department since 2009 and was reappointed for a five-year term this year.

Videos of the award ceremonies can be found at: